Press, Play

A performance like this grips an audience so tightly they are left bewildered when it ends.

Press, Play profile image

Photo credit Judith Crispin.

Fuelled by an immense respect for each other’s artistry and a kindred musical/creative vision, pianist Sonya Lifschitz, flutist Lina Andonovska and their guests, come together to create a tour de force in the interpretation of contemporary chamber music by some of today’s most innovative, exciting, and imaginative musical voices working both in Australia and abroad.

They have performed as a trio to capacity audiences in Melbourne and Brisbane, have been featured as part of the New Music Network’s Mini-Series, have appeared on Radio National’s Music Show and 3MBS radio, and have had several new works written and dedicated to them. The 2015 season highlights include debuts at the Melbourne Recital Centre as part of the Spotlight series, the Melbourne Festival, Port Fairy Festival, a premiere of Larry Sitsky’s Sandakan trio in Canberra as part of the commemoration of the WWII Sandakan marches, and a very special collaboration between Press, Play, visual artist Angela Cavalieri, and an iconic Melbourne arts venue fortyfivedownstairs.

Watch Now


November 16, 2017
Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Griffith University
Piano Masterclass

November 17, 2017, 6pm
Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Griffith University
Seasons – Tchaikovsky
Makrokosmos – Crumb
More information here

Featuring Ukranian-born pianist Sonya Lifschitz, Above Below juxtaposes two great works inspired by the twelve months of the year and the twelve houses of the Zodiac – Tchaikovsky’s Seasons ans Crumb’s Makrokosmos.

Ian Hanger Recital Hall

$15/$10 AT DOOR

November 29, 2017, 6pm
Melbourne Recital Centre
Press, Play – Sweet is the Torment
Buy tickets here
More information here

An impassioned musical and visual adventure

Sweet is the Torment is a collaborative, multi-media work curated by some of Melbourne’s most innovative and creative artists working across a range of media and musical styles.

Taking the sensuous splendor of Monteverdi’s madrigals as a point of departure, Sweet is the Torment draws on a range of historical influences to create a musical journey in time from the sumptuous beauty of High Renaissance, via the liturgical purity of Baroque, to the unpredictable whimsy of Modernity.

Press, Play invite you on an impassioned musical and visual adventure as words, sounds, and images collide and coalesce in a tapestry of seamless beauty and timelessness.


Press, Play
Melryn Quaife soprano
Alexandra Sherman mezzo-soprano
Kaylie Melville percussion


Giacinto Scelsi

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Con Che Soavita

Kaija Saariaho
Si Dolce è il Tormento

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Si Dolce è il Tormento

George Crumb
A Little Suite for Christmas

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Lamento d’Arianna

J.S. Bach (arr. J. Brahms and E. Moreno)
Chaconne in D minor

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Munro)
Lamento della Ninfa

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Pur ti Miro, Pur ti Godo


Melbourne Recital Centre31 Sturt Street,
3006 Australia

Duration: 1 hour 10 min (no interval)

This concert is set in-the-round. Seating in the Salon is general admission.

Look & Listen

Press, Play:
Andrew Byrne White Bone Country (live from fortyfivedounstairs, excerpt)
watch now

Emmerson/Lifschitz Duo:
J.S. Bach/arr. Emmerson Goldberg Variations (trailer)
watch now

Damian Barbeler Bright Birds (live from Four Winds Festival):
watch now

Concerto Appearances:
Kate Neal Particle Zoo II (live from Arts House Meat Market, excerpts)
watch now

“Sonya, Lina and Leah make a wonderful and refreshing new Trio for the Australian music scene. When appearing in Brisbane’s DeClassified Music series in October this year, they made it clear that they would not be simply treading carefully in the footsteps of their predecessors, but would be asking questions, trying new things, and making sure that Australia was keeping in touch with trends set by avant garde musicians in world centres. Complete technical control, instrumental familiarity and the trio’s respect and regard for one another were obvious to those in the audience. All left the concert with shining eyes, having been on a journey through spaces of introspection, meditative peacefulness and disciplined madness.”

Brieley Cutting, Artistic Director, Declassified Music Series

Read the review Canzone: Music as Storytelling

Read the review Crashing Through Fences
(Metropolis New Music Festival, 2016)

  • More Video

    Watch more of Press, Play

  • View Calendar

    Upcoming performances of Press, Play


Morton Feldman: Why Patterns? c. 1978

John Luther Adams: After the Light c. 2001 (arr.)

Larry Sitsky: Sandakan Trio c. 2015

Randall Woolf: Between Me, Myself and the Lamp Post c. 2015

Doina Rotaru: Crystals II c. 2003

Rob Davidson: Cuban Missile Crisis c. 2013 (arr.)


David Lang: Vent (fl, pno)

John Luther Adams: Red Arc/ Blue Veil (perc, pno)

John Psathas: Matre’s Dance (perc, pno)

Teruyuki Noda: Eclogue (fl, perc)

Andrew Byrne: White Bone Country (perc, pno)