Emmerson & Lifschitz Duo

Emmerson Lifschitz Duo

Photo credit Angela Turner

Two of Australia’s most innovative, imaginative and searching musical voices come together to re-imagine works of the past, re-invent the works of the present, and forge new paths into the future in the genre of two piano ensemble. The duo seeks to explore the theatricality, dramaturgy, and the intimate and intricate dialogue possible between the two instruments.

Watch Now
  • More Video

    Watch more of the Emmerson / Lifschitz Duo

  • View Calendar

    Upcoming performances of the Emmerson / Lifschitz Duo


November 16, 2017
Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Griffith University
Piano Masterclass

November 17, 2017, 6pm
Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Griffith University
Seasons – Tchaikovsky
Makrokosmos – Crumb
More information here

Featuring Ukranian-born pianist Sonya Lifschitz, Above Below juxtaposes two great works inspired by the twelve months of the year and the twelve houses of the Zodiac – Tchaikovsky’s Seasons ans Crumb’s Makrokosmos.

Ian Hanger Recital Hall

$15/$10 AT DOOR

November 29, 2017, 6pm
Melbourne Recital Centre
Press, Play – Sweet is the Torment
Buy tickets here
More information here

An impassioned musical and visual adventure

Sweet is the Torment is a collaborative, multi-media work curated by some of Melbourne’s most innovative and creative artists working across a range of media and musical styles.

Taking the sensuous splendor of Monteverdi’s madrigals as a point of departure, Sweet is the Torment draws on a range of historical influences to create a musical journey in time from the sumptuous beauty of High Renaissance, via the liturgical purity of Baroque, to the unpredictable whimsy of Modernity.

Press, Play invite you on an impassioned musical and visual adventure as words, sounds, and images collide and coalesce in a tapestry of seamless beauty and timelessness.


Press, Play
Melryn Quaife soprano
Alexandra Sherman mezzo-soprano
Kaylie Melville percussion


Giacinto Scelsi

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Con Che Soavita

Kaija Saariaho
Si Dolce è il Tormento

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Si Dolce è il Tormento

George Crumb
A Little Suite for Christmas

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Lamento d’Arianna

J.S. Bach (arr. J. Brahms and E. Moreno)
Chaconne in D minor

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Munro)
Lamento della Ninfa

Claudio Monteverdi (arr. Sarcich)
Pur ti Miro, Pur ti Godo


Melbourne Recital Centre31 Sturt Street,
3006 Australia

Duration: 1 hour 10 min (no interval)

This concert is set in-the-round. Seating in the Salon is general admission.

Look & Listen

Press, Play:
Andrew Byrne White Bone Country (live from fortyfivedounstairs, excerpt)
watch now

Emmerson/Lifschitz Duo:
J.S. Bach/arr. Emmerson Goldberg Variations (trailer)
watch now

Damian Barbeler Bright Birds (live from Four Winds Festival):
watch now

Concerto Appearances:
Kate Neal Particle Zoo II (live from Arts House Meat Market, excerpts)
watch now